Skip to main content

Drones for forest firefighting

The mission


Forest fires are natural disasters with devastating consequences for the environment and humans. The number of forest and vegetation fires has risen sharply worldwide in recent decades due to advancing climate change. This is one reason for us at NatureTec to work together with experts from the fire department, aerospace engineering and the HTW Berlin to develop extinguishing drones that will revolutionize firefighting and provide an efficient supplement to conventional extinguishing methods.
 

The solution


A swarm of drones flies from a mobile supply station to a fire site up to 10 kilometers away. The drones are controlled by satellite technology. The extinguishing agent can be dropped directly and thus precisely above the source of the fire. Battery replacement and refueling with extinguishing agent are fully automatic. Thanks to the seamless drone circuit, more than 280.000 liters per day can be transported to the scene of the fire. The drones are in non-stop operation 24 hours a day.

 

10 km

Operating range 

24 h

Non-stop in use

100 %

Electric driven

280.000 l

Extinguishing agent per day

The advantages


Firefighters are far less endangered than before. The drone swarm can operate at night and in poor visibility conditions such as smoke and haze. The low cost compared to firefighting helicopters and firefighting aircraft, round-the-clock operation and rapid retrieval enable flexible deployment, providing real support for firefighting forces. Firefighting drones are a safe, effective and cost-efficient means for forest and vegetation firefighting with low manpower requirements.

 

The partners

HTW Berlin
FW Ludwigsfelde
LSTE Brandenburg
WIR! project
BMBF
CURPAS e.V.

You are interested in this project?


We are pleased to hear that. Please feel free to send us a message if that's the case and we will get back to you as soon as possible.

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

Drohnen für die Waldbrandbekämpfung

Die Mission


Waldbrände sind Naturkatastrophen mit verheerenden Konsequenzen für die Umwelt und den Menschen. Die Zahl der Wald- und Vegetationsbrände ist durch den fortschreitenden Klimawandel in den letzten Jahrzehnten weltweit stark angestiegen. Ein Grund für uns bei NatureTec gemeinsam mit Experten der Feuerwehr, der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik und der HTW Berlin Löschdrohnen zu entwickeln, die die Brandbekämpfung revolutionieren werden und eine effiziente Ergänzung zu herkömmlichen Löschmethoden darstellen.

Die Lösung


Von einer mobilen Versorgungsstation fliegt ein Drohnenschwarm zu einem bis zu 10 Kilometer entfernten Brandherd. Gesteuert werden die Drohnen mit Hilfe von Satellitentechnik. Der Abwurf des Löschmittels kann unmittelbar und somit zielgenau über dem Brandherd erfolgen. Der Akkuwechsel und das Auftanken mit Löschmittel funktionieren vollautomatisch. Durch den nahtlosen Drohnenkreislauf können mehr als 280.000 Liter pro Tag zum Brandgeschehen transportiert werden. Die Drohnen sind dabei 24 h nonstop im Einsatz.

10 km

Operative Reichweite

24 h

Non-Stop im Einsatz

100 %

Elektrisch angetrieben

280.000 l

Löschmittel pro Tag

Die Vorteile


Der Drohnenschwarm operiert auch nachts und bei schlechten Sichtverhältnissen. Dabei können die Drohnen auch in munitionsverseuchten Gebieten eingesetzt werden. Allein im Land Brandenburg ist eine Fläche von über 365.000 ha mit Munition belastet. Löschhubschrauber müssen einen Sicherheitsabstand von 1.000 m einhalten, während Einsatzkräfte am Boden diese Bereiche oft gar nicht betreten dürfen. 


Die geringen Kosten im Vergleich zu Löschhubschraubern, der Einsatz rund um die Uhr sowie die schnelle Abrufbarkeit ermöglichen einen flexiblen Einsatz und bieten so eine echte Unterstützung für die Einsatzkräfte der Feuerwehr. Die Löschdrohnen von NatureTec sind ein sicheres, effektives und kostengünstiges Mittel für die Bekämpfung von Wald- und Vegetationsbränden mit geringem Personalbedarf.
 

Die Partner

HTW Berlin
FW Ludwigsfelde
LSTE Brandenburg
Programm WIR!
BMBF
CURPAS e.V.

Das Projekt interessiert Sie?


Das freut uns sehr. Wir sind ständig auf der Suche nach neuen Partnern und Mitstreitern. Seien Sie dabei und senden uns eine Nachricht. Wir melden uns kurzfristig bei Ihnen.